National Endowment of the Arts - The Big Read
The Age of Innocence

The Age of Innocence

by Edith Wharton

No novel worth anything can be anything but a novel ‘with a purpose,’ and if anyone who cared for the moral issue did not see in my work that I care for it, I should have no one to blame but myself.

Edith Wharton, 1908 (Yale Collection of American Literature, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library)

Other Works about Wharton

  • Benstock, Shari. No Gifts from Chance: A Biography of Edith Wharton. New York: Scribner's, 1994.
  • Dwight, Eleanor. Edith Wharton: An Extraordinary Life; An Illustrated Biography. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 1994.
  • Lee, Hermoine. Edith Wharton. New York: Knopf, 2007.
If you liked The Age of Innocence, you might enjoy:
  • Stendahl's The Charterhouse of Parma, 1839
  • John Galsworthy's The Man of Property, 1906
  • Willa Cather's A Lost Lady, 1923
  • F. Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby, 1925
If you want to read some books Wharton admired, you might enjoy:
  • Jane Austen's Emma, 1816
  • Honoré de Balzac's Pére Goriot, 1835
  • Henry James's The Portrait of a Lady, 1861
  • Leo Tolstoy's The Death of Ivan Ilyich, 1886
The Big Read
Get involved with the Big Read!
Learn More

© Arts Midwest