NEA Big Read
A Wizard of Earthsea

A Wizard of Earthsea

by Ursula K. Le Guin

To me a novel can be as beautiful as any symphony, as beautiful as the sea.

Ursula K. Le Guin (Copyright Marian Wood Kolisch)

Science-fiction novelist Orson Scott Card is best known for his novel series beginning with Ender's Game (1985) and continuing with Speaker for the Dead (1986), both winners of the Hugo and Nebula awards. Card has written novels, short stories, non-fiction books, poetry, and plays. He teaches literature and creative writing at Southern Virginia University.

Writer Michael Chabon is best known for his novels Wonder Boys (1995) and The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay (2000), which won the Pulitzer Prize. His recent work includes Telegraph Avenue (2012). He was raised in Pittsburgh.

Michael Dirda is a Pulitzer Prize-winning critic who writes frequently about fantasy, science fiction, and children's books. He holds a PhD in Comparative Literature from Cornell University and is the author of the memoir An Open Book (2003) and of four collections of essays: Readings (2000), Bound to Please (2005), Book by Book (2007), and Classics for Pleasure (2007). His recent work includes On Conan Doyle (2012).

Dana Gioia, former Chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts, is an acclaimed poet, critic, and literary anthologist. His third collection of poetry, Interrogations at Noon (2001), won the American Book Award. He has also written collections of essays, including Can Poetry Matter?: Essays on Poetry and American Culture (1992; 2002) and Disappearing Ink: Poetry at the End of Print Culture (2004). In 2015, he became the California State Poet Laureate.

A travel writer and novelist, in 1995 Pico Iyer was named by the Utne Reader as one of the 100 visionaries worldwide who could change your life. Born in England, he was educated at Oxford and Harvard universities. A writer for Time magazine since 1982, his many books include Abandon: A Romance (2003), The Open Road: The Global Journey of the Fourteenth Dalai Lama (2008), and The Man in My Head (2012), and The Art of Stillness (2014).

Novelist and poet Ursula K. Le Guin has received many honors, including five Nebula and five Hugo Awards for her work in science fiction and fantasy. Her publications span a variety of genres, including realistic fiction, science fiction, fantasy, children's literature, screenplays, essays, translation, and poetry. Le Guin's novels include A Wizard of Earthsea (1968), The Left Hand of Darkness (1969), The Lathe of Heaven (1971), and Lavinia (2008).

Kelly Link is a writer known for her genre-blending short stories, including the collections Stranger Things Happen (2001), Magic for Beginners (2005), Pretty Monsters (2008) and Get in Trouble (2015). She and her husband manage Small Beer Press.

Born and raised in Los Angeles, Walter Mosley has published fiction, science fiction, and non-fiction. Past president of the Mystery Writers of America, he is best known for his best-selling Easy Rawlins mystery series, which began with 1990's Devil in a Blue Dress. He has written over 40 books, including the non-fiction book This Year You Write Your Novel (2007).

Actor and director KenYatta Rogers can often be found in the theatres of Washington, DC. A professor of theatre at Montgomery College in Maryland, his areas of expertise include Shakespeare and African American theatre.

R.L. Stine's Goosebumps is one of the best-selling series of books for children in the history of publishing. He has also created several other best-selling children's series, including Ghosts of Fear Street, Mostly Ghostly, Nightmare Room, and Invaders of Hark. In 1997 he published his autobiography, It Came from Ohio: My Life as a Writer.

NEA Big Read
Get involved with NEA Big Read!
Learn More

© Arts Midwest